Tags

, , , , ,

Summer has ended, based off both the weather and the start of the new school year.  Over the past week, the skies turned cloudy, temperatures dropped and I am now wearing a jacket during the day and sleeping under my heavy comforter at night.  The long days of summer have ended too, the sun no longer rising before 6:00 am and the daylight beginning to fade by 5:30 at night.

Is this the start of an early winter or just a blimp in the weather before the return of the fine fall days of the previous two years?  I hope it’s the latter.

I now have entered the autumn of my Peace Corps service, the days disappearing as quickly as the sunlight in the afternoons.  We completed our first full week of school yesterday, and I also passed the ten week mark; I can count on two hands the number of weeks remaining for me in Ukraine.  At work, the students (at least the ones who care) and my teachers sense the end is near.  And now that I am so close, I am beginning to understand I will miss them.

As expected, I have fielded questions about my time in Ukraine and about my plans post Peace Corps.  Will you come back to Ukraine?  I have no idea–if the opportunity arises, yes.  Would you change anything about your time as a volunteer?  I’d probably have preferred Africa, but I can’t second guess things that didn’t happen, so no, I wouldn’t change anything.  What are you going to do when you get home?  I will worry about that when I get there.

That last question has actually taken on a lot of significance recently, but for reasons I had not anticipated.  Over the last three weeks, my parents decided to move and things progressed very quickly for them.  After less than five days on the market, the first viewer made an offer my parents found very favorable.  I’m not surprised because I have always thought we had a beautiful home.

Home.

Our house decorated for Christmas, 2009.

It appears Mom and Dad were just as lucky on the other end, finding a beautiful old home in the historic district of Madison, Georgia, about three hours northwest of where they currently live.  (The house was built in 1885.)  If things hold up through closing, my parents will have a new home on October 8th.

It’s a good move for them and I am happy for my parents.  They’ll be living near my brother.  Madison is a beautiful small town that has lots of character and is very close to Athens, Georgia, which is also great, although it’s not Savannah.  Madison will be a nice place to spend a short time after the Peace Corps.

My family moving, however, means I will not return to the house I grew up in and that makes me a little sad.  I find this odd, given I never really liked Effingham County.  In fact, I have gone further and further from home with each successive move after high school.  I’ll miss going into Savannah, but I am sure I’ll be much happier in Madison than Effingham when I get home.

Once I’m there, I’ll have to start thinking about my next decision.

Until then, I have a few more weeks left in Ukraine.  I am going to enjoy my remaining time here while I can.  Home will come soon enough.